PLOHO When the Soul sleeps CD 2022

Art.Nr.: 46759

EAN: 0628070641321


EUR 15,99
inkl. 19 % USt

  • Sofort versandfähig Sofort versandfähig
  • Gewicht 0.11 kg


Title: When the Soul sleeps


Year: 09.12.2022
Label: Artoffact
Tracklist:         01 Curtain
02 If you were the sea
03 Tape recorder
04 Never Say Never
05 Phantom Senses
06 Closing the circuit
07 Come and see
08 Let's not say goodbye
09 wind
Info: Ploho is back with their third album on Artoffact: When The Soul Sleeps, their most haunting and powerful album to date. Inspired by the frigid and inhospitable environment encountered in their native Novosibirsk, Siberia, the band weaves the stark atmosphere of the 1980s Soviet era with the emotionally detached post-punk and rock genres. Ploho emerged as a household name in their native Russia, and has built up a dedicated fan-base in Europe and abroad. The band was formed by singer and guitarist Victor Uzhakov in 2013, who tapped Andrei Smorgonsky on bass and Igor Starshinov on synths. The threesome are one of the most prominent purveyors of the newly dubbed “new wave of Russian music,” also known as “Russian Doomer,” creating a dark and captivating blend of rock, post-punk, and new wave.
In 2020, Ploho found a new home with Toronto-based Artoffact Records who re-released their 2019 album Pyl. That record caught the attention of TikTok viral sensations and recent Sacred Bones signees Molchat Doma, who offered to co-record a new song with Ploho. In
2021, the band released their proper Artoffact Records debut Phantom Feelings which received praise from Post-Punk Zine, Bandcamp Daily, Nine Circles, and many other music destinations. Carried through by the somber and beautiful lead guitar and infectious baritone vocals of Uzhakov overlayed with the emotionally devastating synths and drum work, When the soul sleeps, will prove to be Ploho’s most engaging work yet. Entrancing melodies and soft but persuasive rhythms punctuate each track effortlessly, but with precision. To date, Ploho has recorded five albums, and several EPs, as well as more than 10 singles, which they supported by touring all over Europe several times, including appearances at prominent festivals. The band’s cold and depressing sound evokes the hopeful yet fearful era of the Soviet Union, just before its collapse, and is eerily reflective of our own strange time as well. In an era where the world seems on the brink of collapse, this might be the perfect soundtrack.
Um unsere Website stetig zu optimieren und Ihnen den bestmöglichen Service zu bieten verwenden wir Cookies, sofern Sie der Cookie-Nutzung zustimmen.